*Artikel diperbarui pada 5 July 2023
Apple continues to upgrade its operating system with OS updates. In easy ways, Apple users can experience new features in it. But do Mac OS updates lose data?
People need to update their Macs because there are some bugs that are prone to cybercrime, such as data retrieval and hacking. Apple hopes that this OS update, will prevent and reduce the bugs that are troubling its users.
The update itself cannot be done by all types of Macs. There are specifications for the types that can update. Then, check out this article to find out if Mac OS updates lose data and how to update.
Does Mac OS Update Delete Data?
Actually, operating system updates are less likely to lose data. Previously owned data and applications will be well preserved. In fact, updates will make the device even better in performance and features.
However, this does not rule out the possibility of a Mac OS update losing data. There are a number of things that can go wrong during an update and that can impact the data on your Mac.
For example, a device is updated when the battery is running low. This can lead to suboptimal updates and data loss. Therefore, most companies will urge their users to back up their data. With backup, data will not be lost.
So, it’s a good idea to move your data or back it up to iCloud before the OS update. The data can be kept safe and the update can be done with peace of mind. Also, follow the update steps correctly so that the update goes smoothly.
How to Update Mac OS
The OS update can go through several steps to make it better and smoother. By preparing these things, users will be able to experience the results of the update more optimally. Before the update, people should pay attention to the following:
- The first thing to look out for is device compatibility. This is to find out if the user’s Mac is on the list of types that should be updated.
- Next, people need to back up their data either by saving it to another device or iCloud. This is so that the data on the device is not lost if there is an error that occurs during the update.
- Then, the last thing to consider is updating. People just need to follow the steps correctly for the update and provide a good and adequate internet connection for the update to go smoothly.
Checking compatibility and backing up data are necessary for the update. If you have prepared these things, you can update your OS following these steps:
- Go to the Apple Icon feature on the device.
- Then, click on the “About This Mac” option.
- Press the update option that appears on the screen.
- Wait until the display for OS update appears.
- After that, press the words “Upgrade Now” to perform the update process.
- Wait again until the download is complete.
- If the download is complete, the operating system will automatically redirect to activate the update.
- Press the “Continue” option for the update process to continue.
- Next, click the “Agree” option that appears on the terms and conditions agreement.
- Click the “Continue” option on the screen that shows where the update will be saved.
- Update has been completed.
How to Recover Lost Data
After knowing whether Mac OS updates lose data, people also need to know how to recover lost data. This is useful when data is forgotten to be backed up and lost. Ways to recover the data include:
1. Through the Trash App on the Device
Mac provides a Trash app to save deleted or deleted files for a period of 30 days. If the time passes, the files will automatically be deleted permanently. Here are the steps to recover them:
- Go to the device’s Trash menu.
- Search for the file you want to recover.
- Right-click to restore the file by pressing the “Put Back” option.
2. Via Time Machine Backup App
Apple provides a backup application called Time Machine. This app can be used to restore your operating system and data stored on other storage. The steps to recover data from Time Machine are:
- Find the folder that previously stored the deleted file on the device with the Finder.
- Sign in to an available Time Machine app.
- Select the data you want to restore by looking for the latest version in the timeline on the right side of the screen.
- Once you have found the version you want to restore, press the “Restore” option to restore the data.
So, the possibility of a Mac OS update losing data is possible. It’s best to back up your data to keep it safe. However, people can use the above methods to recover data if it is already lost.